In 1842 Pugin designed and Myers built the Gate House, which is a substantial building with accomodation above it. There is a turret with a weather vane and a huge arched gateway with stone lions heads either side. On the inner boss of the arch is carved Lord Midleton’s coat of arms and on the outer boss is carved an ox crossing a ford, hence the name Oxenford. In 2010 this gatehouse was restored by the Landmark Trust (see article above) and visitors can now stay in it overnight.
In 2009 the farm buildings were used as part of the film set for Ridley Scott’s film of Robin Hood (below)
Nowadays Oxenford Farm is the main supplier of Christmas trees for the surrounding area.